I love my Life!

True Story

Hi Friends! I just wanted to share some fun new music with you. Sorry it has been so long since I have posted an update… Each time I post, I’m like, “I commit to write weekly…” But somehow the days pass quicker than expected (at least for now!).

This song is great! Check out the lyrics below. Vincy music is refreshingly positive for the most part. I mean, how can you be upset or angry for too long when surrounded by all this natural beauty? I often hear this jam on the way home from training in a van of 17 or so (remember, capacity being around 12 comfortably). It just makes me happy, and appreciative of the moment.

Often, and as many who know me know, I tend to look towards the future for happiness… thinking, “Oh, I will be content when ____”, or “Man, when I am here or there, doing this or that, life will be great!” Well, among many other personal goals I have for myself in Peace Corps, one is to be present. To be. To enjoy and acknowledge each moment as a gift and opportunity to love. This life is too short for drama, baggage, stress, furrowed brows and tight fists. Yes, these are words that have been said before, and will undoubtedly be said again, but the change comes when ownership is taken of this perspective.

I have heard these things before, and not every day will be a piece of german chocolate cake, but like Mr. Cool, our APCD (Associate Peace Corps Director) says, “attitude is everything.” Does this mean “fake it ’til you make it?” No, I do not think so, because roots of behavior must be genuine. Rather, go into situations optimistic if you want success. Do not hesitate when you are sure you are pursuing righteousness. What you reap, you sow. You know?

I have been thinking a lot about LOVE lately… what it is, what it isn’t. What it means to me, and how this word -in it’s entirety  has been constantly present in my life. As a little girl, I “loved” those rainbow light-up shoes that had velcro on them (I hated tying my shoes! and… oh man! that sound was the best during chapel!!!!!). I loved red nail polish that somehow got more on my fingers than nail, and don’t get me started on Funfetti cake!

But I loved my parents too. My family. My pets. Living beings. Compassion and consideration for others (especially non-human animals) is at my core.

But what, at this age, does it mean to love? I am realizing that to truly love others, and treat others the way I deserve to be treated, I must first love myself. It is interesting, in the Vincentian culture, people often say, “Me go here”, “Me go there”, “Me think that…”. Get the gist? The emphasis is not on the “I”, das Ich (the ego), but on a more universal and humble “Me”- does that make sense? Without getting on too much of a tangent (look, I’m getting better I caught the tangent in the bud!), Vincy folk seem to speak in a fashion that diverts emphasis on the self. I guess the reason I am getting into this is because I feel I am becoming hyper-aware of others, myself, and how I view myself viewing others. (Whew, if you were thinking this was going to be a light blog, woops!)

Awareness is the theme here. I have been practicing a personal yoga practice quite frequently since PC began, and it sharpens my senses and consciousness quite acutely. Not perfectly, but what is perfect and comprehensive awareness? I am realizing more and more, as stated above, that I must first love myself to give love (genuine love) to others. Is this my reason for existence? Not sure. But it feels right loving others. Perhaps it is selfish, perhaps it is striving for sincere humility but at this stage in my life, the action of love, and its developing perception, is transformative.

Show love to give love. Be love to show love. Practice love to be love. It’s sort of chicken-and-egg-type thing, but it is really simple fall in love with yourself and you will not help but love others…

I had a dream the other night. Without getting into too many details, I woke up overwhelmingly happy. To the point where I found it difficult to concentrate during my am meditation… The though kept coming to me: “I am worth it”, “I am deserving of love”. Every bone in our bodies is a work of art, and should be appreciated.

Once I sincerely believe this, it takes life. Once I have an attitude surrounding love for myself, one for my environment and others organically emerges. This is a theory, not yet a law… more testing needs to be done. But it is holding so far in my laboratory.

Why do I write this? Why am I posting something that should be entered into a private email or journal? Primarily because I was simply inclined to do so. That’s it… I love my life. I think it is too short to feel otherwise ;)

Sound out the dialect… just feel it ;)

Intro:
Eh
Amarcoooo
(Star Kutt)
I love my life(I love my life)
I love my life(I love my life)
I love my life, I love my life(yeahhhh)

Chorus:
None a wi nuh know weh tomorrow might bring cah di future there’s always away
So mi a live my life today, live my life today yeah
So low mi mek mi talk but mi waan fi talk mi have nuff mi say
So mi a go live my life today, mi a go live my life today
So everybody haffi sing it out

Oh oh
Mi love my life
Oh oh
Mi love my life
Oh oh
Mi love my life
So mi a live my life today
Oh oh
Mi love my life
Oh oh
Mi love my life
Oh oh
Mi love my life
So mi a live my life today

Verse 1:
Mek a change dont mek nobody stress yuh
Dont mek no blood pressure mek yuh life leff yuh
Neva yuh hurt a soul and less yuh
Haffi defend yuhself if dem try test yuh
Thank God fi mi life yes
Mi wake up this morning and alive yes
Mek dem gwaan judge nobody nuh perfect and fadda god alone bring brightness
If yuh nuh like how mi seh go find the lord
Mi nuh have nuh time fi di war cah time so hard
Dem nuh mad mi, mi nah go nuh cycle a ward
Or go join the morgue
Enjoy mi life oh yoo

Few friends weh mi have weh dear to me
Mi nuh trust people so mi choose dem carefully
Dem heart nuh clean so dem cyan come near to me
Cyan compare to me

Chorus:
None a wi nuh know weh tomorrow might bring cah di future there’s always away
So mi a live my life today, live my life today yeah
So low mi mek mi talk but mi waan fi talk mi have nuff mi say
So mi a go live my life today, mi a go live my life today
So everybody haffi sing it out

Oh oh
Mi love my life
Oh oh
Mi love my life
Oh oh
Mi love my life
So mi a live my life today
Oh oh
Mi love my life
Oh oh
Mi love my life
Oh oh
Mi love my life
So mi a live my life today

Verse 2:
Cho
Neva mek nobody get di best of you
Look pon di person inna di mirror pon di dress a too
Tell yuhself seh yuh nah go mek dem pressure yuh
And live life to di fullest that yuh betta do
Just believe me, mi know life nuh easy
Nuff of wi neva born wid gold spooon fi feed wi
Nuh be greedy, set a piece inna life and achieve
Listen to mi ??
Mi love mi L.I.F.E.
And till it leff mi
Mi a gwaan keep puppy and pray to fadda god
Seh old age catch mi
Mi a beg yuh fadda, bless mi
Guide and protect mi
Fi every wrong move weh mi mek inna di streets correct mi yeah

Chorus:
None a wi nuh know weh tomorrow might bring cah di future there’s always away
So mi a live my life today, live my life today yeah
So low mi mek mi talk but mi waan fi talk mi have nuff mi say
So mi a go live my life today, mi a go live my life today
So everybody haffi sing it out

Oh oh
Mi love my life
Oh oh
Mi love my life
Oh oh
Mi love my life
So mi a live my life today
Oh oh
Mi love my life
Oh oh
Mi love my life
Oh oh
Mi love my life
So mi a live my life today

One thought on “I love my Life!

  1. Me love you!!!! Ahh 2 months in and the Peace Corps perspective is kicking in. Just wait until you re-read this post at the end of your service, you may love life even more :0)

Leave a Reply

